Not there when I needed him.

I reached out to him at a low point in my divorce one weekend and he didn’t even respond. It hurt all weekend. I showed up on Monday and didn’t stop by his office to say hello.  I couldn’t look at him.  He let me down.  By noon he came by and asked what was wrong and said I looked disgusted.  I was.  Why is it he can reach out to me and I will be there, but when I need him, I get no response. He explains.  He said he should have responded, he didn’t realize that I was having a hard time. He said we can’t go there. He kept saying I am your supervisor and have a responsibility and I don’t want to go there.  I said we both agreed not to go there, we have a line and we won’t cross it.  He said that line gets blurry sometimes. I agree, it definitely gets blurry to me if not totally disappears, but I didn’t tell him this. He is afraid of giving people the wrong impression.  I have to agree that is a risk too. And that could become a huge problem.  He did make it right by saying he should have responded and I now see his point of view.  At this point his solution is to completely stay apart after hours, avoid the risk entirely.  So we do nothing now, nothing at all. We enjoy each other at work and then we go home alone. It is so very sad and causes me physical pain.  He is right. I can’t deny this but its not what I want yet there is no alternative.

Follow this epic tale of finding love over 50, based on a true story. The story is ongoing so the end is TBD. Follow, comment, and provide support to the main character as she finds herself in love all over again in her 50s, this time with her boss. Updates will be posted every Friday at 5:00. 

Next week: The Norm goes on and on and on…

Leave a Reply

